SurvivalGuide

Survival Guide: Breaking The Routine

routine11If you are a type of person like me, who loves having a routine for everything, then this might be the scariest thing for you too. In my case I always have a morning routine, and I always do everything step by step. I hate missing out a step, or mixing them up. I even have my own route how I walk to work in the morning.
Everything is planned, always.

But recently I had to change it up.

It was the scariest day of my life, because everything I did was different. So, going in to work, I didn’t feel as confident as usually. I was scared that something might go wrong. What a crazy thing to think that because you changed up your routine, your day will be ruined too. Guess what? Nothing happened. Everything was perfectly the same, even better. The outcome of my day had nothing to do with what I have done in the morning.

You can take any route to work.

You can switch up all your steps in your routine.

You can even do new things.

You can do anything.

In the end, none of these things matter.nts-021113-a

It’s all in your head, because if you are a perfectionist, you need to make sure you do everything. That’s why the “routine” exists. It helps you, but it doesn’t influence the world.

So, dare to make changes.

Dare to be different.

That fear only exists in your head. Once you get over it, because you realize it is not real you will be able to experience new things, much more interesting morning. Like you could take an alternative route and see beautiful places. Or stop for a coffee in that cute little coffee shop what you always pass in such a hurry.

Once you slow down, you will be able to see the small but more precious things in life.

creativity_routine1There is no need to be so strict with yourself.

Life is hard enough on its own, you don’t have to put additional pressure on yourself.

Just enjoy the little things. Life is full of them.

 

Step outside the box.

Open your eyes.

The opportunities are all around you.

You just have to be brave enough to recognize them.

7 thoughts on “Survival Guide: Breaking The Routine

  1. You’re absolutely right on this it’s all in our heads. Nothing matters. Made me realize things that I’ve done differently, that I’ve stressed over was literally for nothing. Thanks for this.

  2. This is such an interesting post. I both love and hate routine. I love it because it frees up mental space to focus on other things and it gets some of my ‘must do’ items done. Equally though, being a slave to routine doesn’t always allow us to progress. Maybe it’s ok to have a routine but switch it up sometimes!

Leave a Reply

